The Transitioning Process

My name is Shannan Robinson. I was born and raised in Austin, Texas. I’m 20 years young and I’m currently a junior at Texas State University. Growing up the schools that I went to were filled with majority white students. I never really felt connected to anybody until I got to high school. Growing up with girls who weren’t the same ethnicity as me I was teased about my hair and my weight. Fortunately, I never let that lower my self-esteem. I was always told I was beautiful and I believed that. The only problem was the two “puff balls” on top of my head. I rocked an afro, and puff balls until about the 7th grade. Girls always liked to touch my hair and ask so many questions about it.

I started to grow unhappy with my hair and my mom got tired of doing it every few of days. I got tired of her combing through my hair, it was painful. I begged my mom for a relaxer aka a perm. She hated the idea she said that it would ruin my hair. But I swore up and down that I would take care of my hair. But, if I was going to start doing my own hair like she insisted it needed to be easy. So, eventually I got a perm. At first, I took great care of my hair then I stopped. It became dry and thin. After some years, I was a freshman in high school I decided to transition my hair, after my mom went natural. I loved her hair, it was versatile, healthy, and curly. While I was transitioning from straight hair to curly it was difficult. But, once I saw my curl pattern I fell in love!

I’m choosing to write about how I keep my hair healthy now. I’m going to write about the products that I use such as oils, and my favorite moisturizer. Over the years, I have come across so many products that I have fallen in love with so, I have plenty to talk about. Throughout the time of my writing, I hope to find more products and more styles. Also, I hope I can continue to make my hair healthier and longer. I hope that whoever is reading this can relate to my hair experience. I hope to reach an audience with similar interest in natural hair and its versatility.  Also, I hope to reach women or men who can understand the struggles of keeping natural hair maintained. Men and women both can have beautiful curly hair so I hope I can reach both genders in this time.

curly

A small portion of my curly hair products. 

Leave a Reply

