My Deep Conditioning Routine

Every head of curly hair must have lots of moisture. As our hair grows, the strands of our hair need more nourishment. Deep conditioning adds extra moisture and promotes hair growth. It is necessary to deep condition, to restore damaged hair. Deep conditioning helps your hair strands stay healthy day-to-day. Deep conditioning gives temporary repair to the surface of the hair. Over time, the hair can become healthy again.  Some people have drier hair than others so, it depends on the person to decide how many times they deep condition their hair. Most people deep condition their hair once a week to avoid breakage.

I learned my deep conditioning routine from watching YouTube videos and just experimenting. My hair has always been dry and I don’t see that changing. I deep condition 2 times a week to keep my hair healthy and manageable. There are two choices when it comes to deep conditioning. Homemade aka DIY deep conditioners or deep conditioners brought from the store. When choosing between the two, it depends on how dry my hair is. When my hair is overly dry, I make a homemade deep conditioner. The ingredients I use most of the time are Avocados, mayonnaise, honey, and coconut oil. When I first heard about using these ingredients it sounded disgusting but, they really did moisturize my hair.Most of the time I don’t have time to make a homemade conditioner. I have many different deep conditioners and some help with different problems with the hair.  Sometimes they purify or just add extra moisture.

First, I start off with shampooing and conditioning my hair. Next, I section my hair into four sections using a wide tooth comb then, I split those sections into subsections. Just to make everything easier and organized. Today, I used Shea Moisture Manuka & Honey Intensive Hydration Hair Masque deep conditioner. I make sure each section is still wet and, I put enough conditioner to fully saturate my hair. I then comb through each section to get the product distributed evenly and to untangle my hair fully. I put my hair into a bun and cover it with a shower cap which, locks in the heat to add extra moisture. I leave on the conditioner for at least 10 minutes but, the max is an hour. I then rinse my hair with cool water, which also locks in the moisture to keep the hair soft and manageable.

blog p 2

Materials that I used on my hair. Virgin Coconut Oil. Wide Tooth comb. Hair Ties. Manuka & Honey Intensive Hydration Masque

 

Leave a Reply

