Twist-Out Routine

Hi Guys! Welcome back to Happy Healthy Curly! Today I’m going to go tell you the steps to my Twist Out Routine.

What is a Twist Out?

A twist out is a method that creates coils, and a beautiful pattern.  A twist out is basically, when you put two-strand twists throughout your hair. Your hair can either be wet or dry. When the hair is wet, you let them air-dry overnight. I then separate the twists and wear them out which is known as a twist out.

My twist out took time for me to get right. At first I, couldn’t get it to look like I wanted it to. When my hair was first fully natural it was very short. So, when I would do a twist out I was ashamed at how short my hair would look. I would expect my hair to look like the tutorials I had seen on YouTube. I had to realize that my hair is unique it’s not going to look like other girls. When I realized that, I shouldn’t care what others thought about my hair I was able to love my Twist Outs. It also takes time to find the right products that go with your specific curl pattern, to get the right results.

Steps

coconut 2

Tropical coconut shampoo and Low porosity protein-free conditioner

Step 1: Shampoo and condition hair Having clean hair works best for me and gives me the best results. Because, there is no build up on the scalp and the product saturates my hair better.

Step 2 : Section Your Hair In order to achieve the best results, it starts with organization. Section the hair into 4 sections and leaving out the section you are working on. Sectioning the hair keeps excess hair out of the way while twisting.

Step 3: Hydrate For me, products saturate my hair better when its wet. I use a spray bottle to keep each section wet throughout the process of twisting my hair. Water is also one of the best moisturizers for the hair.

Step 4: Apply Products its important to not apply to much product or it will take forever for your hair to dry. Also, use a product that is meant to hydrate your hair. I try to use something thick  like a hair butter so, I know its working with my hair.

Coconut

Camile Rose Naturals Revitalizing Hair Smoother and TGIN Butter Cream Daily Mositurizer and Virgin Coconut Oil

Step 5: Detangle Combing through each section of the hair after applying the product, to ensure it’s evenly distributed. Detangling also provides smooth, shiny curls

Step 6: Twist Since we have detangled our hair, it makes the twisting product so much easier. Deciding how big or how small you want your twist depends on how you want your results to look. Smaller twist gives a more defined curl pattern. Bigger twist gives a fluffier result.  Grab a section of hair to twist and separate it into two strands to work with. Stretch the hair out and begin to twist the hair over each other and under until you’ve reach the ends. Using more product, twirl the ends into a curl with your finger to make sure your ends are smoothed down.

Step 7: Dry Time After twisting all of my hair, it’s usually late at night. I go to sleep and I let my hair air dry over night. I don’t wrap my hair in anything but, I sleep on a satin pillow case, when I twist my hair. Sleeping on a satin pillow case prevents frizz and makes the end result look better.

Step 7: Untwist Oil your fingertips to prevent frizz. Starting from the bottom, unravel each twist by twisting it in the opposite direction. I use a wide tooth comb at the end to fluff my hair and make it big.

Leave a Reply

